Holy sore shoulders, Batman!

Good grief, yesterday’s workout was apparently a killer.  I mean, it was hard when we were doing it, and I definitely felt like I was working with pretty blitzed arms by the third circuit, but I didn’t expect to feel this sore today!  Lifting my coffee mug is enough to make me whine.

Image Source

However, I’m not one to tell anyone to tone it down, if you’re not actually injured.  Frankly, I really like this feeling of being sore after a workout.  It tells me that I did something right, and that I’m definitely going to build muscle. But for some people, the post-workout soreness is a real drawback.  So, if you’re one of those people, you might want to tone down the weight/reps from yesterday’s Upper Body Day.  😉

Actually, in the third circuit, even Kara and I (and our other two workout buddies!) made some mods so we could get through it all:

  • For those backward lunges with bicep curls (10-lb weights), we did a static lunge, pumping out all EIGHT (instead of 10) reps at once on the left, and then switched to a lunge on the right.  The extra lunges were killing us, and we were already dead.
  • Those shoulder raises on the side planks are harder than they look.  We used 5 lbs, 10 reps each side. Also, note that the arm that’s on the floor is an ARM, and not a hand. I tried to use a hand instead, but again, our arms were BLITZED (I like that word today) by the third circuit.
  •  I sorta like those new V-sits with chest presses.  We did them with 8-lb dumbbells, 15 reps.  I tried to cheat and use 5-lb dumbbells once, and Kara gave me “the look.”  This is why you have workout buddies, people.  They keep you in check.

Yesterday’s big mistake, though:  I forgot post-workout protein!   DAMMIT.  I was doing really well with that a couple of weeks ago, but I’m a little disorganized since last week.  I’ll remember next time.  I promise.  But I did have fish and veggies for dinner… still, not good enough!

How do you feel about post-workout soreness?  Do you try to avoid it, or are you a freak like me, and relish in it?

-Amanda

 

One thought on “Holy sore shoulders, Batman!

Leave a Reply

