Snack Attack

I find myself often fighting cravings mid morning and mid afternoon. Last week in particular was a tough one and actually inspired this post.  It’s almost like clockwork when 3pm rolls around and I search my desk for signs of edible objects. I can be pretty good about saying no to snacks, but I do find myself caving in more often than I’d like.  Through my own trials, I’ve found a few ways that help me stop my extraneous eating. I put together a few ways in the list below that have worked for me and will hopefully work for you too.

Five ways I’ve learned to curb snacking:

  1. Brush your teeth.  Absolutely nothing tastes good immediately after brushing your teeth.  If you don’t have a toothbrush handy or feel awkward brushing your teeth in front of your coworkers, you can always swish some mouthwash or pop a mint.
  2. Out of sight, out of mind.  Keep you snacks off your desk in a drawer or in your bag.  I actually hid my dove chocolate piece behind my computer screen today.  I would have completely forgotten it until a co worker asked me about it…  then, yes, I ate it.
  3. Drink more water.   I always try to keep a bottle handy.  When I get that urge to eat something I take a sip instead in attempts to quell any eating desires.
  4. Take a break and do something to occupy your mind. I sometimes have mundane tasks to accomplish, like filling out paperwork or organizing data, and that’s when miscellaneous eating hits me hard. A pretzel here, a peanut there and next thing I know the bag is empty. To squash my hunger desires and challenge my mind, I keep a rubik’s cube and some brain teasers about.
  5. Keep those wrappers as a reminder of chocolate carnage.  If and when I do give in to the secretary’s stash of chocolate delights, I leave the wrapper on my desk.  Clutter, yes, but seeing all I have eaten tends to be the reminder I need to not make a bad day any worse.

kara.

Leave a Reply

