Pie!

Hi Folks,

Last night we had a petite farewell dinner for some friends. I love baking, so I said I would bring a dessert. In looking around for something light and healthy, I stumbled upon this gem: frozen raspberry pie.

 

Not only was it super easy to make, it also was super delicious and not highly caloric. To make you’ll need:

one pre made chocolate crumb pie shell
1 16oz package of frozen raspberries
2 T lemon juice
2 eggwhites
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 cup granulated sugar

You begin by bringing a small saucepan with water in it to a gentle boil, not roaring. Then combine the eggwhites, sugar and cream of tartar in a bowl. Place this over the gently boiling water and mix with hand mixer for 10 minutes. You want stiff peaks to form and for the eggs to reach 160F. I just set a timer, and called it good after 10 minutes. Take that off heat and let cool. Meanwhile put the raspberries and lemon juice in a blender and blend until smooth. Mix the raspberry mixture in with the eggwhites and then pour into pie shell. I decorated mine with some fresh raspberries at this point, and then stick it in the freezer for at least 5 hours.

Let me know if you try it 🙂

kara.

2 thoughts on “Pie!

    • I think Kara just used a pre-made Oreo crust… I think you can find them in the frozen section. For the record, pre-made crusts are TOTALLY out of character for Kara. I found a recipe that said all you would need is 1.5 cups of crushed Oreos (without the center — hmmmm, I wonder what you’ll do with the center!), and 3 Tbsp of butter. Mix all together, press into a pie dish, and bake for 10 minutes at 350F, before adding the filling. Just like graham cracker crust, really. =)

      -Amanda

Leave a Reply

