Easy (?) Leg Day, 4/27/2012

WOW.  That was a long hiatus.  Last week, I was in Atlanta for a conference all week.  I gained 5 lbs, then promptly lost 4 about two days after returning.  Conference food and snacks are EVIL.  But I’m glad it came off so fast.  I’ve been giving all of the credit to my existing muscles for metabolizing things quickly, because lord knows I haven’t been exercising.  Catching up at work has been a time-sink, plus I still feel like the new home needs lots of work all the time, so I have not kept the gym at the top of my priorities. SHAME!!  Shame, Amanda!  SHAME!

Anyway, since it’s been over two weeks since I did any weight-lifting, I’m going to opt for a lighter leg day than usual.  I don’t want to be sore for too long.  Just want to wake my muscles up, burn some calories, and start the getting back on track.  =)   Actually, this is pretty normal for me — the swinging back and forth.  Check out the awesome graphic I made, to describe my annual behaviors for you.  I crack myself up.  =PNote that I’m usually a lot better about keeping a stable diet (as long as you don’t count after 11pm, haha!), than I am about exercising.  Anyway, without further ado, here is the workout that begins the up-slope of that little dip around mid-April.

Circuit 1 (four times)

  • goblet squats, 30-lb dumbbell (x10)
  • side-to-side bench hops with 4 levels (x30)
  • windshield wiper abs, on floor (x5 each side)

Circuit 2 (four times)

  • wide-leg deadlifts, two 20-lb dumbbells (x15)
  • side shuffles to the right (about 20 ft), 2 burpees, side shuffles to the left, 2 burpees (x2)
  • abs: legs up (perpendicular to floor), touch toes, legs down, sit up and touch toes (x10)

Circuit 3 (four times)

  • calf raises, two 12-lb dumbbells (x20)
  • walking lunges, no additional weight, (x20)
  • side-V abs (x10 each side)

It doesn’t look that easy.  Oops?  Oh well, we’ll see how it goes!

-Amanda

2 thoughts on “Easy (?) Leg Day, 4/27/2012

Leave a Reply

