Softball Season Has Begun!

It’s softball season, and Kara and I are off to a pretty awesome start.  I shouldn’t jinx it, I guess.  Both Kara and I play for two different co-ed softball leagues.  One is at work, with a bunch of scientists, engineers, and occasionally military people in the league.  The season for this league hasn’t started yet, but the league is very, very casual.  Our team usually makes a point of bringing lots of beer and often BBQing during the game.  All players are welcome — we’ve been known to introduce international friends to America’s Favorite Pastime. We have a great time, and it’s a group of really close friends.

But the other league we play on is much more competitive.  Frankly, I like it a bit more for a couple of reasons (haha, this post could be controversial, depending on who reads it):

  1. We have a great captain, who is also an excellent coach.  He is direct, but kind in his suggestions, and I consider him a good friend.  There are a few things he’s said to me that I repeat as mantras in my head throughout the game. He has really helped me improve, especially as a fielder.
  2. The team is consistent.  The same people usually show up every week.  We know each other, and we know our strengths (and weaknesses).
  3. Uh, we win a lot, but not all the time.  Last year, we were the league champions!  That was awesome.  This year, we’re also doing well, so far.  Our current record is 2 wins, 0 losses, 1 tie.  It can’t be denied — playing for a winning team is more fun.
2011 League Champions!

In our first game of the season, Kara kicked some serious ass.  Not only was she fielding really well, but she hit an amazing triple in the 3rd inning.   I was so impressed.  I wish I could hit as well as Kara!  I’m working on it!

Our game last week was awesome for me.  I was at second, and had three (THREE!!) double plays.  That was my first game with ANY double plays, and somehow I got three of them.  And I also got on base with two of my hits, one of which was an RBI.  I can’t complain.  I’m pretty sure that’s going to be the highlight of my season.

And speaking of softball/baseball, we (the Beau and I, with some friends) got to go see the Giants beat the Padres this weekend at AT&T park.  We had a great time, although it was just about the shortest game I’ve ever been to.  Lincecum pitched well, and had the hit of the game, in my opinion (breaking 6 innings with no hits, whew), and left-fielder Melky Cabrera made 3 (more?) solid outs.  Nice!  I enjoy MLB so much more now than I did before, just from having some experience on the field.

https://i1.wp.com/freakzappeal.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/sf-giants_freakzappeal.gif

Go Giants.  Kara’s not going to like this — she’s a Tigers fan.  And really, I’m supposed to be a Red Sox fan.  Hm.

Anyway, I’ll be working in a few new softball-related exercises into some upcoming workouts.  Keep an eye out for those!  Happy Monday!

-Amanda

One thought on “Softball Season Has Begun!

Leave a Reply

