TurboFire: HIIT15 & Abs10

Wednesday night, to keep up a decent exercise routine, I did a quick TurboFire session before heading out to dinner with friends.  I did HIIT 15, and Abs 10.  It was an awesome workout!

HIIT stands for high-intensity interval training.  So this was basically a quick 15-minute anaerobic cardio blast.  This is NO JOKE.  Seriously, it was freakin’ hard.  The workout consists of three drills, done three times each.  I think each drill is about 30-45 seconds, and then you get a 30 second break before the next round.  I. was. dying.  But I will say that I far prefer these jumping/lunging/squatting drills to running, biking, or other longer-duration types of cardio.  I guess psychologically, it’s just easier for me knowing that I only have to push really freakin’ hard for 30 seconds, and then I get a break.  I’d much rather be at a 9-10 for 30 seconds, than a 5-6 for 5 minutes.  Plus, there are many benefits to high intensity interval training, as opposed to traditional long aerobic workouts.  So, for me at least, it’s a win-win.

The 10-minute abdominal video was great too.  Honestly, I didn’t 100% keep up.  Of course, if you know me, you know this pisses me off.  So you can bet I will be working in this particular video until I feel I’ve matched the intensity and strength of the athletes in Chalene’s (the TurboFire Instructor) class.

The two best things about this DVD set, so far (I’ve tried Fire 30, Fire 45, HIIT 15, and Abs 10) :

1. The instructor, Chalene.  She knows just what to say to keep me from wussing out.  She is not cheesy.  She is intense.

2. The music.  Especially on the HIIT video I just did, it’s great.  On some of the more intense moves, there are explosion kinds of sounds edited into the music, and it really makes you feel like working hard and making your moves, well… explosive.  I won’t lie, I totally smiled during these parts.  I felt powerful! (What a dork.)

Has anyone else tried TurboFire?  What did you think?

-Amanda

P.S.  I am not being paid by TurboFire to share my opinion with you.  This is all me.  =)

Leave a Reply

