Stuffed Chicken Breasts & Pretty Salad

Last week, we had some friends over for a small dinner, and I cooked up a recipe that I had just recently tested, from Fitnessista.  It came out so well that I knew I’d have to make it for guests.  So I did!  I totally recommend making this — it is SO EASY.  And it tastes fancy.  Easy and seemingly fancy is the perfect combination for a girl like me.  I served little salads for an appetizer, and we had roasted asparagus with the chicken.  Our guests also brought a ridiculously decadent duck/fois gras combination, which we slathered on french bread.  The meal was healthy, until they arrived!!   Hahaha, I don’t care.  It was delicious.

Pretty Salad 

I did not measure anything for the salad, but the picture should give you an idea of how small they were. The total salad serving was probably 1 cup.

  • halved baby heirloom tomatoes (Trader Joes!)
  • sliced cucumber
  • sliced avocado
  • sliced hearts of palm (the white circles in the picture)
  • roasted pine nuts (just brown them quickly in a skillet — don’t let ’em burn!)
  • light ceasar dressing, used very sparsely

Stuffed Chicken

  • 6 boneless, skinless organic chicken breasts
  • 4 oz (two of those small logs) goat cheese
  • 1 small jar (~8 oz) sundried tomatoes (they came in an oil/spice blend)
  • 2-3 cups organic spinach
  • dried oregano
  • dried thyme
  • minced garlic (from a jar, I’m lazy)
  • salt & pepper

Preheat your oven, stupid!  375 degrees.  I always forget this.

Slice the breasts almost all the way through, by pressing down on the top, and sliding the knife carefully through the middle, longitudinally.  Go slowly, and use a sharp knife.  Then open up the breast fillet like a book.  On one side, make a layer of about 6 spinach leaves, 1.5 Tbsp goat cheese, and 1.5 Tbsp of sundried tomatoes.  Then fold the chicken “book” closed, and press down on top to sort of seal it together.  Sprinkle spices on top, to your liking.  I used about 1/2 tsp of garlic, 1/4 tsp each of oregano and thyme, and a dash of salt and pepper for each breast.  I skipped the lemon that Fitnessista used, which is stupid, because we have a lemon tree in our yard.  It’s probably really good with lemon!

Anyway, the picture shows what the chicken looked like before going into the oven (Stupid microwave-defrost cooked the edges.  I swear we let the chicken defrost all day, and it was still frozen when I got home.  wtf.).  Cook at at 375 for about 25 minutes.

Serve with something green, like this:

Really yummy dinner!  Seriously, you’ve got to try the chicken breasts.  And that, my friends, brings the usage of the word “breasts” in this post up to 7 instances.  You’re welcome.  Happy Tuesday!

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

