Cardio + Tabata + Abs

Yesterday’s workout was a lot of cardio with a tabata and ab workout finish. My usual workout buddies couldn’t make it so I opted to do some solo cardio instead of fighting the boys for the weight machines. I find that Monday and Tuesdays at the gym are the busiest days so I try to save my weight lifting for the end of the week. This way I never have to wait to move back and forth between machines and can keep my heart rate more elevated during the workout.  But back to my workout of the day.

Workout – 30 minutes steady state cardio, tabata then abs.

Cardio

I ellipted on the elliptical for my 30 minutes steady state. However, I can’t stand just staring around the room for that long, so for the first 5 minutes I kept it at a level 9 and then for the next 5 minutes I increased the intensity 1 level each 30 seconds. Increasing the intensity every 39 seconds makes the work out breeze by and adds a little extra challenge.

Tabata
Performed the following moves for 20 seconds with a 10 second rest in between and complete the circuit twice.

  • Crab Kicks
  • Burpees
  • Jump Lunges
  • Ski Jumps

Crab Kicks

Abs
Finish with 30 reps of each of these moves. Feel free to break it up into 2 set of 15 reps each or 3 sets of 10 reps each.

Leg Raises

Enjoy!

kara.

One thought on “Cardio + Tabata + Abs

Leave a Reply

