Oatmeal Cookie Awesome

I’m a huge sufferer of the 4:00p munchies. Like clockwork, my stomach starts gurgling. Some weeks it’s so bad that I could almost set my watch by it. Almost. Since it’s a bit early for dinner and I usually work out prior to going home, I like to have something healthy to remedy my rumbly tummy.

A while ago I found some articles that had recipes for homemade oatmeal cookies/granola bars. All of them either looked too healthy (so organic and wholesome they didn’t look appetizing) or too rich ( lots of sugar/chocolate). So, I did some research on what types of components would be necessary to make a bake-able cookie and what healthy and delicious ingredients I wanted to include. I settled on dried cherries, chocolate chips and unsweetened coconut for my yummy mix ins and flax seed meal, for fiber, and quinoa flour, for protein, as my healthy mix ins. I’ve gone through a few iterations now, and I think I’ve got a delicious cookie that will make the perfect afternoon snack. It’s like my own version of a lara bar in cookie form – the kara bar

Healthy Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

Almost All the Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 3 Ripe Bananas
  • 1/3 Cup Applesauce
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 Cups Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Dried Cherries
  • 1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips
  • 1/3 Cup Unsweetened Coconut
  • 1/3 Cup Quinoa Flour

Instructions

    1. Preheat the oven to 350°F
    2. Add enough water to the flax seed meal to dissolve it in water. This makes it gel and will prevent it from being grainy in the cookies.
Dry Flax Seed
Dissolved Flax Seed
    1. Place the bananas, applesauce, milk and vanilla into a blender. Blend until all combine, about 1 minute
    2. Place the remaining dry ingredients into a large bowl. Pour in the liquids and mix well.

Dry Ingredients

    1. Add quinoa flour. You may need to add more depending on how big your bananas were. Add enough so that the consistency is like slightly runny cookie dough.

Dough

    1. Roll into balls and place on a greased cookie sheet. I used olive oil spray to coat my cookie sheet. This will prevent any chocolate chips from getting stuck on the sheet.

Balled Cookies Ready to Go into the Oven

  1. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes. They cookies won’t run and will keep their ball shape when baked.
  2. Let cool and Enjoy!
Cookies!

They usually keep about a week if you place them in a sealed container in the refrigerator. Let me know if you try and like them!

Kara.

Leave a Reply

