The juice is loose!

Well, not the boozy kind of juice…

I’ve been meaning to get on the juicing train for a long time now.  We have a juicer that was gifted to us by my Beau’s good friend, and I haven’t used it ONCE, despite having it for over a year.  Well, it’s about time I got on that.  So this weekend, we made a special trip to the local farmers market, to pick up some juice-worthy fruits and veggies.  I decided on:

  • a bunch of beets (with the greens intact)
  • Fuji apples
  • carrots
  • ginger
  • plums
  • tomatoes
  • celery

So this morning, I whipped up this lovely concoction to drink as my mid-afternoon snack.  This recipe for “Detox Juice” was inspired by Health.com.

  • 1 medium beet (saved the greens for something else)
  • 1 big-ass Fuji apple
  • 2 carrots (about 4oz)
  • 1-inch cube of fresh ginger
Proud of my creation, skeptical of its flavor, giving it a try, and post-glug (psycho-face?) approval.

I’m pretty sure the secret to making tasty juices is all about the apples.  They are so sweet, and they complement many vegetable flavors.  I’m also a huge fan of beets, though, so this one had a strong advantage.  I couldn’t really taste the carrot, which is fine, since I don’t particularly care for carrot juice.  Also, the addition of ginger gave it a great kick!  Overall, I’d give this a very high score — very tasty.  I can’t wait to do some more experiments.  I hope to make a spinach-cucumber-apple-celery juice at some point, but I want to use up the ingredients I’ve already purchased, before they go bad.  Do you think this stuff is freezable?  Or does freezing break up the nutrients?  Any juicing tips?  Recipes? 

-Amanda

One thought on “The juice is loose!

Leave a Reply

