More CrossFit Adventures

Last night, I used a Groupon to start a new round of CrossFit Training.  I know I’ve said before that the cost of CrossFit memebership is way too high for me to justify, especially when I have a free gym at work, with plenty of equipment, and some pretty excellent workout buddies.  That said, the workout that I get at CrossFit is a small step above what we usually do in our group workouts.  I probably burn about the same number of calories, but I am certain that my muscle-building from these workouts is a bit more efficient.  And, as you’ll see below, I’m forced to RUN a lot more than I would usually plan to.  Have I ever mentioned how much I hate running?  Ask Kara.  Seriously, nothing can make me whine like running.

Anyway, I thought I’d share our workout from yesterday.

Warm-up

  • 380-m run
  • 50 jumping jacks
  • 10 overhead pass-throughs with a dowel (here at 2:44)
  • 10 good mornings with a dowel
  • 10 overhead kettlebell swings (15lbs)
  • 10 figure 8’s with the kettlebell (15lbs)
  • 10 Russian twists with a kettlebell (15lbs)
  • 10 pullups with an elastic strap for assistance
  • 10 supermans

Skill

2-min plank with the whole group of CrossFitters

Workout of the Day (WOD)

Complete the following circuit 5 times, as fast as you can

  • 480-m run
  • 25 overhead kettlebell swings (20 lbs)
  • 15 pull-ups (with assisting strap, if needed)

My time for the WOD was 28:55.   The hardest part for me was the run, as usual.  But I’m proud of myself for not walking a single inch.  I’m pretty sure I at least did the running portion in under 10 minutes (seriously, I’m slow). Today, my upper back is the most sore.  I think it’s because we did a different version of kettlebell swings where, when you run out of momentum from the forward thrust of your hips (and the bell is probably just slightly higher than your face), you’re forced to use a bit of muscle in your upper back to get the kettlebell all the way overhead. Check out this video.

Notice that he’s not stopping when he runs out of momentum from his legs/hips — if he did, the bell would only come about halfway up, to right in front of his face. Adding the overhead component makes the move even more compounded, which is great.

It was a killer workout, and I’m looking forward to another one this Friday!

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

