CrossFit Friday, Spiderman Crawl

On Friday, I attended the second Groupon CrossFit session of my latest CrossFit phase. Here’s what we did:

Warm-up

  • 380-m run
  • 50 jumping jacks
  • 10 overhead pass-throughs with a dowel (here at 2:44)
  • 10 good mornings with a dowel
  • 10 tricep dips with an elastic band for assistance
  • 10 figure 8′s with the kettlebell (15lbs)
  • 10 Russian twists with a kettlebell (15lbs)
  • 10 pullups with an elastic strap for assistance
  • 10 squat jumps

Skill

Spiderman Crawl.  I think we did about 20 reps (10 on each side), since we did the crawl back and forth along the length of the gym floor.  Another thing to note:  about half of the people doing this workout did the pushup with the foot of their bent leg held OFF OF THE FLOOR.  So they basically did a tripod push-up, and got some more abdominal intensity from holding their leg up while completing the pushup.  I was really impressed.  I tried, and I am definitely not that strong yet.

Workout of the Day (WOD)

In 25 minutes, complete as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) of the following circuit:

  • 150-m run
  • 5 pull-ups
  • 5 tricep dips
  • 7 squat jumps

I completed 9 (+13), which means I completed 9 full rounds, and got through the tenth round all the way to the 3rd jumping squat (5+5+3=13).  I was so close to 10 total rounds!  It’s ok, I have room to grow!  Again, I swear it’s the running that kills me every time.  But it’s something I should work on, so I’m glad that CrossFit is pushing me to do so.  I’m developing little ways to coach myself or distract myself through the pain.  On a couple of the laps, I was planning the evening’s dinner.  😉

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

