Leg Day + Abs 10/3/12

I’m please to announce my return to the blogosphere after some absence! My life has been pretty chaotic the last few weeks. 3 weddings, a week of travel for work, friends and family visiting, a lot of work stress and deadlines, etc. Now however things are beginning to simmer down. During this time, I’ve been doing my best to keep up with the workouts. I have a few good ones that I’ll post posthumously and provide some feedback on what modifications I would have made. In addition, you’ll be seeing the amazing (and healthy) dinner we had last night in a future post!

On to the workout. It starts with a quick warm up, moves into a circuit and then finished with an AB HIIT. I’ve also added a skill section to follow along a bit with what Amanda’s been doing. I can’t wait for her return from Crossfit, I have not been pushing myself as much weight-wise without Amanda’s support in the gym lately.

Warm Up
5 minutes of moderate, steady state cardio. I will hit the treadmill, but feel free to spin, row or use the elliptical.
15 kbell swings
arm rotations with a dowel overhead
10 pushups
50 jumping jacks
20 russian twists with a 15 lb kbell

Skill
Back Squats. I’ll start out with a 45lb bar to perfect my form and then gradually add weight. My goal is to do 10 squats with as much weight as I can.

Circuit
Repeat 3 times

  • Curtsey Lunge
    x 10 each side, with a weighted bar
  • Sumo Squats with weight in front
    x 15 with a 15lb weight
  • Step Ups
    x 50 total, no weight
  • Lunge on Bosu
    x 10 each side, 10lb weight in hand
  • Side Burpee
    x 10 each side
  • Overhead Squat
    x 5 with 30 bar
Curtsey Lunge
Sumo Goblet Squat
Bosu Lunge

Ab HIIT
20s work, 10s rest. Repeat the circuit 3 times.

  • Scissor Abs
  • Frog Abs
  • Windshield wipers
  • Plank Hold

Sweat and Enjoy!

Kara.

Leave a Reply

