CrossFit Journal, 10/2/2012

Every day at CrossFit is different.  It’s one of the big advantages, in my opinion, since I am easily bored when it comes to fitness.  Tuesday, I worked out with 3 other guys, all of whom had more experience than I do.  I don’t mind this at all, especially since it gave the trainer (the one I’ve ranted about) some time to help me — a newbie — work on my form.  I benefited a lot from some individual attention.  I think my “clean” form is improving a lot.

There was also a different kind of competitive atmosphere today, from my perspective.  Since there were no girls in class when I went, the competitive streak I have sort of changed character.  When there are girls in the class, I 100% admit that I feel competitive with them.  I want to be the strongest girl, the fastest girl, etc.  I don’t always win, but I am rarely last place.  And if another newbie beats my time, I like to think it’s usually because they’re lifting lighter weight.  These are the things I think about.  I know, it sounds a little petty, but really I just use it as motivation.  I really do want everyone to do well in the class; I am inspired by women who push themselves and aren’t afraid of being strong.  When someone beats me, and they were lifting the same or heavier weight, I really admire them.  But Tuesday, I discovered that it’s not just the women who make me feel competitive.  Even when it’s only dudes in the room, I still want to keep up.  There were two who blew me out of the water (seriously, holy shit).  But my sick, competitive alter-ego is cackling with glee about my victory over one of the other guys.  Mu-ah-ah-AH!  Is something wrong with me?

Here’s the work out!

Warm-up

  • 320-m run
  • 10 burpees (don’t forget the push-ups!)
  • 30 jumping jacks
  • 10 good mornings with a dowel/PVC
  • 10 deep lunge stretches (mainly to stretch groin)
  • 10 front squats with dowel/PVC
  • 10 power cleans with PVC
  • 10 thrusters with PVC
  • 10 knees to elbows (see video below)
  • 10 toes to bar (see video below)
  • 10 scissors (the familiar ab move where you scissor your legs vertically, and then horizontally, near the floor)
Power clean.

“Knees to bar,” and “toes to bar” in one video:

Skill

Max hang squat clean.  This is the same as a power clean pictured above, except you start with the bar just above your knees, instead of on the floor. Here’s another nice video showing what it looks like.

7-5-5  (experienced CrossFitters did 5-3-1-1-1 with heavier weight).  Remember those numbers (7-5-5) are the number of reps per set.  You increase your weight for each set, if you can.

I did 25lbs – 45 lbs – 65 lbs.

I struggled with 65 lbs, but it definitely taught me to get under the bar at the end (the “drop”) on the image above.  The lift takes a lot of practice… I had to really focus on the shrug and the drop to get it feeling right.  Another key is that the bar needs to move vertically, never forward.  It’s tempting to want to bring the bar forward (like a reverse curl), but once you get to a heavy weight, this technique fails.  So I really want to work on keeping the bar movement vertical, so that my form is better when I get to lifting even heavier weight.

WOD

5 rounds for time of:

  • 1 power clean (50 lbs)
  • 3 hang squat cleans (50 lbs)
  • 2 push jerks (50 lbs)
  • 200-m sprint

Write down your time after the first set of 5 rounds, then take a mandatory 2 minute break.  Repeat the set another five times, and note your finish time.

My first 5 rounds took 8:48.  After two minutes of rest, and another 5 rounds, I finished at 19:19.  That means my second set was shorter than my first (8:31)!  I didn’t realize that until I just did the calculation.  I’m pleased with that.  I set a goal, during the two minute break, of finishing the rest of my next set of 5 rounds by the 20 minute mark.  It took a lot of will to keep pushing.  I’m proud to say I fought hard, and beat the time of one of the guys.  Granted he was doing more weight than I was, but it definitely was proportional.  I think he simply ran out of will.  You should have heard the string of excuses he was making after the workout.  Lawdy-lawdy.

Are you competitive?  What sets that go-get-it fire under you?  How do you motivate yourself to push through the toughest parts of a workout? 

-Amanda

4 thoughts on “CrossFit Journal, 10/2/2012

  1. Nice push through the second half! Having a shorter second round is definitely an accomplishment to be proud of!

  2. I totally know what you mean about that competitive feeling with other women- I’m sure there’s some evolutionary reason for it or something! Your post makes me want to lean more about Croas Fit- I need to mix up my cardio-only routine.

Leave a Reply

