Full Body Day 10/9/2012

I had a pretty delightful weekend. My parents visited for the past four days and we went to Yosemite.   We had a fabulous time hiking through the forest, walking along nature walks and driving around sight-seeing.

Yosemite Valley

However, I had a hard time sleeping in my room in the cabin all weekend and to boot, this morning I had to take them to the airport at 5 am. so. early. It’s safe to say I was pretty pooped and slightly loopier than normal back at work today. With that in mind, I wanted something quick but challenging for a workout. It was fortunate then, that I stumbled upon this article in Men’s Health. The perfect inspiration I needed.

Warm Up
5 minutes of moderate, steady state cardio. I will hit the treadmill, but feel free to spin, row or use the elliptical.
15 kbell swings
arm rotations with a dowel overhead
10 pushups
50 jumping jacks
20 russian twists with a 15 lb kbell

Skill
Pull Ups. 10 total with as little resistance as I can use, starting low and upping the resistance a little if needed.

Workout
Perform once through, but in a ladder format. Begin with 1 rep of each exercise on your right side, moving from one to the next without rest. Next, do 2 reps of each on your right side, then 3, and so on up to 5 reps. Rest for 2 minutes, and then repeat the ladder on your left side. If your grip isn’t strong enough to complete a full ladder on one side, alternate sides, resting for 1 minute between rep levels.

Kettle Bell Work Out

I had a some time figuring out the one armed snatch from the image. I googled one armed kbell snatch however and found a plethora of explanatory videos. When I got to the gym, I started with 5lbs just to perfect the form right and get comfortable with the move. For the workout I switched to a 15lb kbell.

To finish the workout I did four farmer walks across the gym with 30lb kbell in each hand.

Workout Inspiration:

Kara.

Leave a Reply

