CrossFit Journal, 10/16/12

I headed back to CrossFit yesterday after a little hiatus.  Travel and a cold threw a wrench in my routine, but I was happy with how strong I still felt, even after the break.  I have to admit that I was really nervous about whether there would be a ton of running, because my throat/lungs are still recovering, and I wasn’t sure how much ground I’d lost as far as cardiovascular fitness goes.  I always find that my endurance with running goes away really quickly if I don’t do it for a week or so.  And I’ve heard rumors from the other CrossFitters about recent workouts that have included up to 5k in running, in addition to requisite lifting routines.  I’m so intimidated by that… I know I’d get it done, but it would really suck for me.

But, I had fun last night!  We ended up doing a lot of partner work, and things seemed a little more low-key than usual.  Also, everyone seemed a bit more friendly and chatty, so I enjoyed the fitness camaraderie.  In my opinion, it’s the number-one virtue of this fitness trend (I know that some people will gasp (!!) that I’ve called it a “trend.” What do you think?) .  I absolutely love group fitness, especially when everyone has higher-than-your-average-fitness-class motivation.

Warm-up

  • 480-m run
  • 30 jumping jacks
  • 10 hand-release pushups
  • 10 overhead pass-throughs with a dowel (here at 2:44)
  • 10 low, slow squats
  • 10 Knees to Elbows
  • 5 burpees
  • 10 scissors
  • 10 ring dips, or simple tricep dips, with or without elastic assistance

Skill

Tabata Partner Medicine Ball Situps.  Almost exactly like the video below, except when our partner had the ball, we would just wait for the ball to come back instead of doing an extra situp without the ball.  Personally, now that I’ve seen this video, I think we should have done the extra sit-up!!  But I can always implement that later in another workout of my own design.  =)

For the Tabata format, we did as many reps as possible in 20 seconds, then took a 10-second break.  This was repeated 8 times for a total of 4 minutes.  My partner and I kept to a pace of 10-11 situps per round, using a 12-lb medicine ball.

Workout of the Day (WOD)

More partner work, this time a 20-minute AMRAP (that means As Many Rounds As Possible in 20 minutes).

  • 5 ring dips
  • 10 hand-release pushups (ugh)
  • 15 air squats (you must break parallel for it to count — that means your butt goes below the level of your knees)
  • the prescribed number of burpees (see below)

Here’s how the partner workout goes.  Partner A goes through the first three exercises (dips, pushups, squats), and at the end completes one burpee. When she’s done, partner B goes through the first three exercises, and at the end completes two burpees. Then back to partner A… at the end of the first three exercises, she does three burpees, and so on.  So each time through, you add a burpee.  Partner A always does the odd number of burpees, partner B always does the even numbers.  Partner A rests while partner B works, and vice versa.  Together you complete as many rounds as possible in 20 minutes.  Together, my partner and I completed 12 full rounds, plus 15 reps (all the way through the push-ups on the 13th round).

Since I was curious, I added up exactly how many reps of each exercise I did.  I was partner A.

  • 35 ring dips
  • 70 pushups
  • 90 squats
  • 1+3+5+7+9+11=36 burpees

Anyway, it was another great workout.  I think I’m ready for some running next time.  Still, not too much.  I still loathe it, but I’m less worried about my fitness level than I was before yesterday’s workout.  😉  Don’t be so skeered, Amanda!  When’s the last time you were unnecessarily intimidated by a future workout/fitness event?  I know I always feel that way before a race event.  Gah!

Happy Hump Day!

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

