CrossFit Journal, 10/18/12 – Separating the Girls from the Women

Hardest CrossFit session to date?   Will I just continue to say that as long as I push myself?   I kid you not, at one point during yesterday’s workout, I actually (ACTUALLY) thought to myself “I would rather be running.”  If you’ve been reading along, or if you know me personally, you know that this thought is unheard of for Amanda.  I worked my ass off.  And two others in the room still KILLED ME.  I can blame it on the fact that I hadn’t eaten since lunch (usually I have a snack in the afternoon), but really that doesn’t make up for the difference.  I will definitely try this workout again, and try to improve my performance.  It would be simple to implement at the gym at work, so I look forward to trying again with Kara.

Warm up

  • 320-m run
  • 10 pushups
  • 10 burpees
  • 10 windshield wiper stretches
  • 10 Russian twists, 20 lbs
  • 10 V-ups
  • 10 good mornings with a dowel
  • 8 figure-8s with a kettle bell, 20 lbs
  • 5 box jumps (20”?)

Skill

Max height box jump.  Just keep laying big plates on top of a box, see how high you can go, and measure with a tape measure at the end.  Be smart, be careful.  I got to 29.5”.  I’m 5’4”.

WOD (Workout of the Day)

You have 2 minutes to complete:

  • 10 box jumps (20”)
  • 5 bar-facing burpees (see first video below)
  • As many hang power snatches (see second video) as you can in the remaining time (35 lbs for women, I believe it was 65 lbs for men)

You will repeat the two-minute circuit 8 times, and write down your number of reps (including box jumps and burpees) at the end of each circuit.  There is a 1-minute break between circuits.  Your score is the total number of reps completed.  In my case:  28-25-25-24-22-22-22-23 = 191 total.

Once again, I was not in last place (out of 4 people), but I was pretty far behind the two people in front of me.  There was a girl (excuse me, WOMAN!) who scored 353 reps, with the same height box, and the same weight on her bar.  I am still completely blown away by her performance.  She pushed really hard, and performed amazingly well.  Definitely inspiring!  That’s what I mean by separating (by a very large margin) the girls — me — from the women.  =)  I’ll get there!  I’m still proud of how hard I pushed myself.  I was definitely bordering on black-out at one point, and also had some serious heartrate and breathing issues at one point.  But I pulled through and finished the last round without giving up any more reps.  Whew!!

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

