Last Day of CrossFit, 10/26/12

I finally made it through my 10th day at CrossFit.  Did I mention this was a $30 Groupon for 10 drop-in classes?  As I’ve mentioned before, a regular CrossFit membership is simply out of my price range for fitness.  So Kara and I are always on the lookout for fitness-related Groupons to keep things interesting, and learn more moves to incorporate into our own shenanigans.  This is the second time one of those Groupons was CrossFit-related.  Our next adventure involves some kettlebell classes!  I’m sure we’ll be posting about that soon, since our first class with the new Groupon is on Thursday.

I’m not going to mention the particular place I’ve been going to, since I’ve not given great reviews, and I don’t want to recommend the place to anyone.  One place I would recommend, however, is CrossFit Los Gatos.  They seem to have their ish together over there.  Anyway, here’s a rather late recap of the last CrossFit session I attended at this gym.

Warm-up

  • 320-m run
  • 10 double-unders with a jump rope (swirl the rope fast so it goes under you twice for one jump)
  • 10 reverse burpees (I love these! See video.)
  • 10 scissor legs
  • 10 kettlebell deadlifts + upright row (25 lbs)
  • 10 overhead kettlebell swings
  • 10 supermans
  • 10 pushups
  • 10 wide arm pushups
  • 10 narrow arm pushups
  • 10 knees-to-elbows

The reverse burpees we did looked like this, except without the medicine ball.

Skill

Work on kipping pullups.  Maybe one of the most notoriously criticized CrossFit moves.

My opinion:  it’s not a pull up, and I don’t care.  It’s still an interesting, useful, strength-building move. Don’t hate.  I also like regular pull-ups.

Work on double-unders, since they’re included in the WOD.  It’s all in the wrist, baby. I am still working on these — I usually do a pattern of 2 regular jumps, then one double under, then two regular jumps, and so on…

Workout of the Day (WOD)

There are three sets below.  You have 11 minutes to do as many rounds as possible of the first set, then move on to 11 minutes of the second set (no break!), and then 11 minutes of the third set.  Keep track of how many rounds you complete.

  1. 100-m run, reverse burpees, 10 double-unders
  2. 100-m run, 7 overhead kettlebell swings (25 lbs), 7 kettlebell deadlifts + upright row (25 lbs), 5 scissors
  3. 100-m run, 35 7” jumps, 5 knees-to-elbows

When I walked in, I was checking out the “score board” to see what other people had achieved with this WOD.  I decided to shoot for 15 rounds, and that ended up being perfect.  I finished exactly 15, pushing especially hard toward the end.  Around the halfway point, I wasn’t sure I’d make it, but I tried to increase my running pace, and I think that made the difference. I think I did 5 rounds of #1, 4 rounds of #2, and 6 rounds of #3.

Overall, I’d say I had a pretty positive experience with this CrossFit gym, but I think it’s because I am fairly familiar with how to position my body to avoid injury.  I also faked some max weights a few times, because I had the sense that the trainer would have added more weight to my bar than I really think is appropriate for someone with my level of strength.  I can definitely see that there will be many injuries occurring at this gym (my chiropractor is apparently quite familiar with the place), but it was a positive experience for me because 1) I think I’m pretty good at preventing these kinds of injuries, and knowing when to increase/decrease the weight, and 2) my fitness level improved a lot.  I have higher endurance, improved upper body strength, and more confidence in my ability to succeed when things are TOUGH (that’s a big one).  I also learned tons of new moves that I’m sure will be put to good use in future workouts.  =)

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

