Full Body 12/3/2012

This week’s focus for me will be on motivation.

In the days leading up to the turkey trot, I was mostly running a 5k each day to see what my time would be. Apologies for the lack of posts, but my creative brain couldn’t think of anything better to post than: “I ran. 29:32.” It was a blogging low point for me.

Additionally, knowing that I need to run on thanksgiving really didn’t give me much working out motivation other than to run. It was my first race in a long, long and I was a bit anxious about performing well.

THEN, to top it all, I got a cold immediately following thanksgiving. I was due. (that admission is so weird for me, however…) Roughly 95% of my friends and co-workers had been sick in November and I was only biding my time and perpetually washing my hands until I knew it would catch up to me. When the cold finally caught me, I huddled in my bed, drinking orange juice and eating popsicles for two days before emerging back into the real world. I’m now fully healthy and ready to return to the gym.
And motivated to kick some bootay!

On to the workout. Today’s workout will start with the below warm up, follow with the circuit performed 3 times through.

Warm Up
5 minutes of moderate, steady state cardio. I will hit the treadmill, but feel free to spin, row or use the elliptical. I didn’t want anything too taxing here, since I wanted to start out a bit slow my first day back.

Workout
Repeat 3 times

  • Squat Jumps
    x 10, with a 8 – 10lb kettle bell in each hand
  • Plank Row with a Knee Tuck
    x 10 rows each side. Check out the video below for some good form tips
  • 3 Jump lunges then a side Ninja Kick. (because… sometimes I pretend to be a ninja)
    x 5 kicks each side
  • Plie Squat with Upright Row
    x 15, 20lb kettlebell in hand
  • Sit Up with Press
    x 10

The first three moves are shown in the below video. Zuzska is my hero.

The Plie Squat with the Upright Row is move #3 from Fitnessista’s November Knockout Workout

Fitnessista November Knockout Workout
Fitnessista November Knockout Workout

Sit Up with Press

Sit Up with Press Start Position
Sit Up with Press Start Position

Sit Up with Press Start Position
Sit Up with Press Middle Position
Sit Up with Press Start Position
Sit Up with Press Top Position

Enjoy!

kara.

One thought on “Full Body 12/3/2012

Leave a Reply

