Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up, Week 1

Today, Doha and I are going to try Fitnessista’s (currently, my favorite fitness blogger!) Week 1 Summer Shape Up Workout.  It looks really fun, and I can’t wait to try it.  Here’s the graphic from her page.

From The Fitnessista

You can also take a look at her video to get more details on the movements.  She’s really done a great job planning this one out.  Here’s my plan for weights and reps on each of the above six exercises.  Complete all six a total of THREE TIMES.

15-minute HIIT

Do 30 seconds of one exercise, at FULL TILT, and then rest for 1:30.  Then move to the next exercise.  Keep going, repeating the cycle, until you’ve completed 15 minutes.

  • get down, get ups on Bosu Ball
  • jumping jacks
  • high knees
  • jump squats
  • butt kicks
  • push presses with ~35 lbs

This is going to be so sweaty.  Can’t wait!

-Amanda

Update, post-workout:  For the HIIT, I sorta messed up a little, but it worked out ok.  What you should do is, instead of taking just sedentary breaks for 1:30 between the intervals, you should be continuing at about a 2 or a 3 for that time.  I forgot that.  What we ended up doing was taking sedentary breaks for 1 minute, since 1:30 seemed too long.  Now we know why it seemed too easy!  hahaha, next time. 

This is a great workout though!  I highly recommend it!  My total burn, after 45 minutes (that included everything) was 480 calories.

2 thoughts on “Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up, Week 1

Leave a comment